“I find the key is to think of a day as units of time, each unit consisting of no more than thirty minutes. Full hours can be a little bit intimidating and most activities take about half an hour. Taking a bath: one unit, watching countdown: one unit, web-based research: two units, exercising: three units, having my hair carefully disheveled: four units. It’s amazing how the day fills up, and I often wonder, to be absolutely honest, if I’d ever have time for a job; how do people cram them in?”~Will, About A Boy

I love this quote and his explanation of time and how to manage it when not going to a full time job.

Today I am going to breakdown my day into units of time ala Will.

Writing Blogs, 2 units

Developing new series 4-6 units

Goofing off on FB – 2 units (3x a day)

Watching TV and catching up on shows 4 units (repeat as needed)

Walking dog 1 unit (4 times at least)

Job searching 2 units

Really? I can’t believe I ever worked 80 hours a week and still had time to write!

To be honest, when I am working, I find I have more time because I am not worried about not working and I concentrate of getting all the work done and then the writing. I just do it! When I am on “hiatus”~which in Los Angeles is a fancy word for unemployed, I mean, really, who are we kidding?~I tend to waste more time that I am productive in.

Today as soon as I am done with this blog and 2 others, I am going to write~

Short story, then my new pilot, then my film (act 3….oy vey.. act 3 you are killing me), then my pilot some more, do some reading, watch some shows as example and then the novel.

Yep, I agree with life. I find it hard to imagine having the time for full time work.